Becoming a Knitter

I love a lot of things in this world, but one of my favorite things is knitting.  There is hardly a moment where I’m not knitting.  It didn’t always used to be this way. There was a point in my life where I wasn’t a knitter. Its odd for anyone who knows me now to even imagine that I wasn’t born with two needles in my hands. I’ve only been knitting for 6 years and it was almost by accident.

While in college, my friend helped me get a job with campus security. I would patrol the campus during the hours of 7pm – 1am. This job was also year round (i.e. through the winter). It was frakking cold.  We were required to stick with a certain look: black or navy gear. Not really being a fan of navy, I decided to get a black scarf. Being a small college town, there weren’t many places for a poor college student to acquire clothing, so I ended up at Wal-Mart. Oddly enough they didn’t have any black scarfs. What they did have was some black yarn and some knitting needles. I thought, “Knitting can’t be too hard.” So I bought the beginnings to my new hobby.

Learning how to knit was a whole ‘nother thing. I didn’t know anyone who knitted nor had I ever seen anybody knit. So I did what any other logical person would do in my position and consulted Youtube. My first scarf was a masterpiece to behold. No, seriously… it belonged in a modern art museum… Holes and dangly bits and I could have sworn it was getting wider. It was amazing that it was holding itself together, but I had made a scarf. Then I made another scarf, and another, and another.

My coworkers were very happy with the scarves I gave them.  I didn’t need 8 black scarves hanging around the house.  Although after that moment in my life I decided to never knit with black yarn again.  Which I promptly forgot about when my brother asked for a scarf, but that’s besides the point.

I had become a knitter.

Leave a Reply

