Beer Review: El Mole Ocho

El Mole Ocho by New Holland Brewing Company

New Holland describes this beer:

Our exploration into the flavors of mole, the legendary sauce of central Mexico. Malty aroma and rich, cocoa-laden body laced with an invigorating tinge of dries chilies and coffee.

It is 10% ABV and is classified as a Chili Beer/Mexican Spiced Ale.

El Mole Ocho
Beware the chili belches.

Amber’s review (3/5):

A mole beer seemed very intriguing to me.  I’m not really a fan of mole, mostly because of chocolate taste.  (I’m not a fan of chocolate.)  I also have a slight aversion to chilies or spice in my beer.  The reasoning behind this is a whole other story.  So, of course I had my reservations about this beer, but I’m always up for trying new things.

The color was beautiful, but a little lighter than I had expected it to be.  The very fragrant chili smell nearly knocks you out of your socks.  I was almost scared to try it.  The taste had very subtle chili flavor, which I was thankful for.  I mostly tasted chocolate and coffee flavors.  Lots of chocolate.  It took me a while to finish this beer, but it was worth it.  The more I tried it the more it warmed me, I guess that was the chilies (or the ABV).  Everything was good up until the belches.  I always burp with beer, its unavoidable.  The belches on this were chili central.  It burned all the way up, which I did not find very pleasant.

Over all, the coffee and chocolate notes were divine.  The chili belches… not so much.  Only New Holland could get me to try my two least favorite flavors in the same beer.


Alex’s review (2.5/5):

Not gonna lie, this beer was gonna have a hard time pleasing me from the get-go. I’m not a big fan of beers that play with spice notes in general, and heavy stouts really aren’t my thing. I make exception for those aged in bourbon barrels. Bourbon barrels are most definitely my thing.

The aroma of chilies was very intriguing, but I really didn’t taste any chili. Probably a good thing in my book. What I did taste a lot of was cocoa. A lot. Not a great thing in my book. The heavy mouthfeel is right for the style, but with so much dark malt and chocolate I felt like there was a weight in my mouth. Like a mouth full of mud. And not even bourbon barrel mud. So I sipped on it hesitantly until our meal.

Just didn’t really get into the mole ocho. I’m finishing my glass, but wouldn’t rob a chocolate lover of the next bottle, so they can have it instead.

Leave a Reply

