State Fair Items 2014

Today I drop off my items for the state fair.  This is my third year doing this and it hasn’t gotten easier.

Smaug inspired hand knit sock
I am armoured above and below with iron scales and hard gems. No blade can pierce me.

I made the socks a while back and its been killing me to not be able to wear them yet.  They have an interesting cable that goes across the top of the foot.  Its mirrored on the other side.  I love non-identical matched socks.  Pattern: Smaug by Wimpwoman Designs.  Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll in Firecracker Heather.

knitted doily
“This one looks cool.” – Alex

I’m entering two doilies.  One knitted and one crocheted (this will be two different categories).  I figured I’m making them for the wedding, I might as well enter them into the fair.  I don’t expect to win with either of these, but I like the idea of other people being able to see my hard work.  I had a hard time deciding which of the knitted doilies to put in.  Some of the other ones are probably a little more technically challenging, but Alex said the Hemlock Ring Doily just looks cool.  The other doily is the Easy Pineapple Doily.

Crochet doily
Pineapple Doily

The yarn… well its finished… kinda.  I called it quits about mid day yesterday, due to time constraints.  I wound it on the niddy noddy, tied it in three places (just like the Premium Book states), pulled it off the niddy noddy, and out spilled expletives from my normally tame mouth.  Over plyed.  WAY over plyed.  I took a couple of deep breaths and reminded myself that I still needed to soak and thwack.

I put the mad yarn in its bath and walked up to the local grocery store for dinner ingredients.  When I got home, I gave the yarn a good thwack (a great way to take out some aggression).  But the kinks weren’t coming out, it had loosened a bit, but not quite there.  I rewound the skein, and put it in another bath.  My friend drove us up to Liquor Barn because: A. It was our monthly Saturday night in with Disney movies and cocktails.  B. This yarn was going to drive me to drink.

I didn’t want to spend my entire night worried about  this yarn, so when we got home all I did was wring it, thwack it, hung it up, and pretended it didn’t exist.  This worked for a good portion of the evening.  I enjoyed the rest of my night with a good friend and a good bottle of sake.  The yarn didn’t creep back into my mind until this morning.  I walked into the bathroom and the yarn was completely dried (yay).  But it still has more kinks than 50 Shades of Gray (ugh).  I’m not going to let it bother me (yay).  But I will re-skein it, to make it look a little better (ugh).  A couple hours, a very worried Alex, and a meltdown by yours truly, the yarn is now in its final form (for now) and ready for the fair.

Handspun yarn
It should be named 50 Shades of Pink

Lets hope next year runs a bit smoother.

One thought on “State Fair Items 2014”

Leave a Reply

