Beer Review: Incorrigible

Incorrigible by New Holland Brewing Company

New Holland describes this beer:

Incorrigible celebrates the beauty of mischief. Wild yeasts and bacteria run free in our sour-aging cellar, the House of Funk, creating vibrant sour and acidic character in this delicate, yet complex wheat beer. The refreshingly tart session beer will tease your palate with a subtle, layered nuance.

It is 4.5% ABV and is classified as a Sour White Ale.

New Holland's Incorrigible beer
Can’t be changed.

Amber’s review (4/5):

I could count the number of sours I’ve had on one hand.  Each one was something different and I’ve liked every single one of them.  I think I’m the type of person who could be a sour beer drinker.  This beer, I figured, would be just as good as the other ones.

I’m happy to be right now and again.  Incorrigible is lighter and fresher than most beers I’m used to (I tend to favor the dark side).  The small bubbles make the mouth feel excited.  The sour is spot on.  Not enough to make you pucker, but just enough to make you sit up and notice what this beer has got going on.  Bright and sour, super yum.

We actually split this beer 3 ways.  My friend Kira was over for the day and wanted to try it.  She is not a sour beer drinker.  She couldn’t finish her glass, so I gladly helped.  Kira rated this beer a 2/5 mostly because of an odd aftertaste that she experienced.  I told her not to worry, she could still be my friend.


Alex’s review (4/5):

I’m not going to pretend I know anything about sour beers. Basically everything I know about what this should taste like you can find in the official description above. What I do know is that I really enjoyed it, and it’s definitely sour – in a good way.

With hints of apple and crisp feel start to finish, I almost wondered if I was drinking an aged champagne. (Note: I don’t know anything about champagne either. Except that I drank a lot of it on our cruise in 2012.) What really topped off the beer was that the sour didn’t seem citrusy, it seemed yeasty. I think whatever strain of wild yeast made this brew should be harnessed and studied. I’d like to see it experimented with further.

In my liver.

Leave a Reply

