Beer Review: Kentucky Ryed-Chiquen

Kentucky Ryed-Chiquen by Against the Grain Brewery & Smokehouse

ATG describes this beer:

An amber ale brewed with rye malt and aged in rye whiskey barrels. Our first barrel aged beer here at Against the Grain is the Kentucky Ryed Chiquen. Named so because it was made in Kentucky, has a lot of Rye in it and was aged in rye barrels and it’s not Chicken. As we all know (or should know) Chiquen refers to anything that is not chicken.

It is 8.6% ABV and is classified as a Rye beer.


Amber’s review (4.5/5):

I’ve had this beer before, but I thought it would be nice to put an actual review up for everyone else.  I have a large soft spot for anything rye.  Rye whiskey, rye beers, rye bread… I love them all.  So the very first time I had this beer I had a preconceived notion that I was going to like this beer.

The waitress giggled a bit when I ordered it, and I knew exactly why, but the rest of my table was a bit confused.  She comes back with a large bottle that looks like it had come straight from a chicken coop.  ATG feathered several of their bottles and it is quite a sight to see.  Sorry I don’t have any pictures.  The bar was kinda dark and I knew my ipod wasn’t going to get a good shot.  Here is a post that shows what I’m talking about.

I poured the beer, making sure not to get any feathers in my glass.  The color was a wonderful amber color, or at least it would be if I hadn’t been sitting in the near dark.  I could smell the wonderful rye scent fill my nose as I took my sip.  Pure Rye Bliss.  The mouth feel was nice and smooth and the aftertaste kept me wanting more.  I let some of my table mates have a sip since none of them had tried it before.  My mother (who normally doesn’t agree with my taste in beer) said she could actually drink it.  I call that a win!

This is most certainly a beer that I would suggest to others.  Its a rye beer, but it doesn’t overwhelm the drinker with the flavor.  Very well balanced.  I could drink it all night, if it wasn’t 8.6%

Leave a Reply

