Take my advice

I noticed something today. It wasn’t about knitting and it wasn’t about beer. This was about myself.

My friends always tell me that I give good advice.  I like to think that I know my friends pretty well and I’d like to think that I know what they really want deep inside.  I give the advice that sets them on their path of what they truly want, without all the ifs/ands/buts.

My best friend, who I love dearly, has reached an interesting point in her life.  She is applying for jobs in hopes that she’ll be able to use her design talents.  She is also thinking about moving out on her own (truly alone) for the first time in her life.  She is also about to apply for an international teaching position.  These are a lot of options and a lot to think about.  The problem I find is most people over think it.

My advice to her, was to go for it.  Go for all of it.  No point in holding back.  Some of those things may not work out, or even come to be.  No point in holding back your life in hopes that something may happen.  If more than one good thing comes of this, you can choose when that moment comes.

The realization that dawned on me was that I need to start taking my own advice.  Quit thinking about the ifs/ands/buts and start going for what I really want.  New opportunities may be opening for me.  I have to be prepared to seize them.

One thought on “Take my advice”

Leave a Reply

