Old vs. New

All the knitters I know seem to have this problem of not being able to decide between picking up an old project or starting a new one.  I’m coming up on completing my current shawl and normally I’d just pick up an old project and just continue to knit after my current project is off the needles. But I’ve come across some news that would make any finish-itis knitter stop in their tracks.

My coworker is (most likely) pregnant.  This in combination with the looming dread of Christmas (yes, I’m a Scrooge) makes me really think I could knit a baby blanket by the time presents exchange hands.

I know for some knitters completing a baby blanket in 7 weeks is totally fathomable, but according to my track record I need about twice that time.  I could always do a sweater and booties combination.  This idea really appeals to my “use all the yarn” sensibility.

So by reading this most people would say I’ve already made up my mind and I’m gonna knit a baby thing.  I would agree with this if it wasn’t for the fact that I’m still not 100% that she’s preggo and I’m afraid to ask.  What is the protocol on this sort of thing?

This brings me back to the conundrum of do I assume and knit a baby item before Christmas, or do I continue with my temporary finish-itis and wait until I’m certain and then knit a baby item… First knitter problems.

Leave a Reply

