Paonful

I have been working on my Paon (aka the pain) for over 2 years now.  I have bouts of working on it, and then it sits for a few months.  I’ve started it over 3 times and lost too many beads to count.  It has been a long road, a painful road, but in the back of my mind I knew that it was going to be worth it in the long run.  I was going to have a beautiful full lace beaded alpaca/silk laceweight prize winning shawl.

I’m sure you can kinda see where this post is going…  things didn’t end up as planned.

I picked up the Paon again last Friday.  Found where I was in the chart, gathered my beads and a cup of coffee, and sat down to what I knew was going to be an intense knitting session.  While double checking my location on the chart, I noticed that one of the strands in my knitting was a little thin.  I was worried about it breaking during blocking, so I decided to tink back past that part and reattach the yarn.  Then the unthinkable happened.

The strand below the row I was working on snapped.  Instantly the stitches began to drop back through the rows.  I quickly picked up the live stitches I saw, but I’m still not certain i had actually grabbed them all.  With all the yarn overs its really hard to tell what may have slipped past me.

After picking up the live stitches, I sat the project down gently, ran to go get Alex, and cried… Later on Alex took me to River City Drafthouse where I had a very nice beer and I was able to calm down.

Fast forward to Saturday.  I pick the shawl back up with determination to tie a knot and keep moving forward.  I grabbed my tweezers and with my friend cheering for me I attempted to knot the two loose ends.  I finally knotted it, but with the silk content the knot isn’t really holding.  I’m worried that it just isn’t going to work.

I’ve set the project down again while I debate on what to do with it.  Should I have faith that the knot will hold and then just continue forward?  Or maybe I should start over?  The third option is to just rip it out and forget kitting the Paon with this yarn.  Any other ideas would be welcome.

Leave a Reply

