Beer Review: Christmas Ale

I know I’ve talked about the hunt for a good beer.  I tend to go hunting for Holiday beers during the season, even if I am a bit of a Scrooge.  This post is a little on the late side, but better late than never.

I had heard about Great Flood doing a West Sixth tap takeover.  I decided that’s what I wanted to do for that particular Saturday night.  I was even more excited when I had heard that they would tapping the Christmas Ale at 6pm.

My crew and I showed up probably about 10 til and patiently waited in line.  We were about 5-6 people away from being able to put our order in, when they announced that they blew the Christmas Ale keg.  Needless to say I was rather disappointed.

While I was enjoying my West Sixth Carolina Rye, Alex was stopped by the West Sixth rep.  They talked for a little bit, and she informed him that our Kroger had some of the Christmas Ale.  So guess where we stopped on our way home?

That's a West Sixth glass btw.
That’s a West Sixth glass btw.

Christmas Ale by West Sixth Brewing

The West Sixth Christmas Ale is spiced ale with aroma of cinnamon and nutmeg with a sturdy malt backbone that will hold up to the chilliest of nights.  It’s a higher gravity beer weighing in at 9% ABV. This is our slightly darker take on a holiday beer – perfect for evenings by the fire.

If I had a working fireplace, that’s certainly where I’d be curling up to drink this beer.  It feels warm, cozy, and oh so comfortable.  I’m not sure if that’s from the malt of the 9% ABV (I’m going to blame both).  This beer is most certainly a treat.  Sweet and spicy, kind of like a drunken gingerbread man.  Probably one of my more favorite Krampus beer.  4/5

I decided to get Alex’s two cents because I’m often seen as being a little too much in favor of Krampus beers.  He says, “Pretty much the Christmas Ale I would be willing to drink anytime. Lots of them dump in way too many spices, I think West 6th is just right to balance out the brown ale feel.”

Leave a Reply

