Need for Mead

It might be because its winter.  It might be because its Krampus time.  All I’m certain of is I have this craving/desire/need for mead.

Meads have a large range of styles.  There are wine styles and beer styles.  They can be sweet or dry.  Or anywhere in between any of these.  But the two things that mead requires is water and honey.  Lots of honey.

One of my friends had made a mead several months back.  He “accidentally” left it in the fermenter for about 2 months (we still aren’t exactly sure).  Come to find out, it is possible to brew a liquor style mead.  It didn’t really have the ABV to be considered a liquor, but it most certainly had the bite and the alcohol effects of a good liquor.

My loving brother has graciously supplied Alex and I with a very large container of honey.  Enough to make a few gallons of mead.  Unfortunately its been sitting there because I am lazy Alex and I differ on what we want our mead to be.

Alex really likes the mead from Cumberland Brews.  I prefer my mead to be a little sweeter and preferably with some flavor.  I would love to experiment with things like a ginger mead or even an orange mead, since I think oranges and honey are amazing together.  My only concern is that I’ll screw something up and it won’t turn out well and then I would have wasted all of that beautiful honey.  Obviously I’m just scared.

I’m planning on getting my butt in gear and brewing the mead anyway.  I have some time off work coming up due to the holidays so I should have some time in there for a brew day.  Anyone have a recipe?

Leave a Reply

