50 Page Rule

When do you really stop reading a book you don’t like?  Some people say 100 pages, some say 50 pages, and then there are the people who say you should just keep reading until you are done.

Normally I would fall into that third group… kinda.  I had a tendency to start a book, get distracted, I find the book months later with my bookmark still in place, continue to read.  I’m trying to get out of this trend.  So far I’ve been successful.  I’ve completed 3 books without breaks.

Now I’ve come to a bump in my little plan.  I’ve been reading a book that isn’t to my liking…  The book is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

the night circus erin morgenstern bookFirst off, the book has an introduction of sorts which happens to be in second person.  I can’t stand second person writing, mostly because I don’t like being told what to do.  I got past that little bit and gratefully discovered that the whole book isn’t written that way, but it did leave a distinctly sour taste in my mouth.  Unfortunately I have recently come across another piece of second person writing.  And that’s when I promptly put the book down.

In between these two points I really didn’t get a grasp of the characters or the world.  I felt like I could see the plot in the distance, but the author was meandering around it, taking her sweet time getting to the point.  More or less the feeling that I was getting from the book was foggy.  Gray and nothing substantial.

Not to mean someone else wouldn’t absolutely adore this book.  I just don’t have the constitution to jump those hurdles I’ve placed.

Back to my question at the beginning.  I know there is no hard a fast rule on how much of a chance should you give a book.  For this book, the 56 pages I read was more than enough to allow me to bow out without beating myself up over it.

I may go back to it in the future, but for now I’m calling it quits.

Leave a Reply

