2015 Crafting Goals

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, but I do like the idea of setting goals for myself.  So far I’ve created a running goal (body), a book goal (mind), and now its time to set my knitting goal (spirit).  Its very important to remained balanced.

I’ve done knitting/crafting goals in the past.  At most I get maybe one or two things completed.  Its always a little demoralizing, then I realize how much I actually created during the year and its nothing to snort at.  I’ve come to understand that my goals were not realistic.  It doesn’t make sense to try and knit two blankets, 12 socks, 2 sweaters, and try to plan a wedding all in one year… it wasn’t going to happen.  (Especially after I decided to knit/crochet my own centerpieces.)

So this year I’ve decided to be a bit more realistic.  Instead of planning on certain projects I’ll be encouraging myself to accomplishing new techniques and finishing projects that have been sitting in the WIP pile.  This is my list:

  1. Spin a lb of fiber
  2. Knit with some handspun
  3. Dye yarn
  4. Sew something (I’m leaning towards a bag for my swift.)
  5. Figure out Krampus knitting and start early
  6. Work on WIPs
  7. Always have a pair of socks on the needles (I like having a traveling project)

I feel like this is a realistic list of goals and that they are vague enough to allow for unexpected knitting/crafting.  I’m feeling pretty good.

3 thoughts on “2015 Crafting Goals”

  1. I think my crafting goal will be that I’m not allowed to cast anything on until I finish 2 WIPs. I have 4 blankets that are about 3/4 or more finished and 49% of a pair of mittens, most of a scarf, and who knows what else I have crammed down in my giant stash boxes. It seems to be fashionable to not include sock yarn when evaluating the breadth of one’s stash, and as such, I am not including partially completed socks in my list of WIPs.

Leave a Reply

