Homebrew: Braggot

We finally had our brew day.  Alex and I had been talking about what to do with the honey my brother gave us for months.  After much discussion and a trip to our local home brew store, we finally had a recipe.  Our first truly original recipe.

I have to make an aside at this point.  I learned a lot while trying to find a recipe that suited us.  The biggest thing that stood out to me was that a lot of people have very passionate feelings as to what constitutes a mead.  Some people would not accept what we are making as a true mead.  According to them, a mead MUST be a wine style beverage.  So… we aren’t making a “mead.”

We are making what’s known as a braggot.  It is a variation of a mead which uses malt in addition to the honey.  It can be brewed with or without hops.  It can also be carbonated.

Ingredients (minus yeast)
Ingredients (minus yeast)

Ingredients (3.5 gallon batch):

  • 3lbs light dry malt extract
  • 1/2 gallon honey (we estimated this one)
  • 1oz sweet orange peel
  • Yeast: Wyeast 1050 American Ale

We kinda made things up as we went along, but we wrote it down, so its all scientific and stuff.  We brought our water to a small boil, added the DME and let it go for 25 mins.  We added the orange peel for an additional 5 mins.  We started to cool down the wort and added the honey straight to the boil pot as it was cooling.  This helped with making sure that all of the honey was properly dissolved without having to boil the honey and risk loosing some flavor.  We pitched the yeast after it had fully cooled down.  It is now fermenting happily.  I’m looking forward to this one.

OG: 1.094

FG: to be determined!

My bucket is clean
My bucket is clean

I’m very tempted to just let it ferment for a nice long time.  I have a thing for high ABV beers.  But I have to keep in mind that I’ll end up loosing too much of the honey flavor if I do that… boo.

One thought on “Homebrew: Braggot”

Leave a Reply

