Tour de Fleece

I love polka dots!
I love polka dots!

During the summer in France, cyclists from all over the world compete in the Tour de France.  During the same time, spinners all over the world compete in the Tour de Fleece.  There are no cash prizes, we don’t get cool jerseys, and no one is going to stand next to me while I’m spinning and cheer me on.  But there is a sense of togetherness that comes about in events like this, and I think it would be nice to be apart of that.

The Tour de Fleece is July 4th through July 26th (same days as the cycling version).  Since I’m going to be out of town for a week during that (and I don’t feel like trying to get a spinning wheel to San Francisco) I’ve decided not to compete on a team.  I’ll be playing along unofficially for the days that I’m home.

My biggest goal though is trying to complete the “pink stuff.”  Its been haunting me for a while and I’m determined to be done with it.  Plus I may or may not have decided what I’m going to knit with it after I’m finished turning it into yarn.

Leave a Reply

