The Spymaster’s Lady

The Spymaster’s Lady by Joanna Bourne was the July main pick for the Vaginal Fantasy book club.

I don’t know who that guy is, but it isn’t Grey

The first thing I noticed about this book was the cover… dear goodness.  In fact, the librarian handed the book to me cover down.  I was wondering what did I get myself into.  After the book, I was wondering how in the world did those publishers decide on a cover that didn’t match the insides of the book.

This book was another period drama romance novel.  I think I’m becoming accustomed to the period books.  It takes place in Napoleonic France/England.  I honestly don’t know too much about that bit of history, but it didn’t take away from the reading experience.

The heroine, Annique, was very strong and independent.  I really enjoyed the fact that she was a kick ass spy (even if it was a bit Mary Sue at times).  What I didn’t like about her character was the fact that about half way through the book, she slowly becomes a simpering, useless, shell of a woman.  I’m not sure if I should blame it on the man, or the bump to the head she receives.

As for the men in this book… besides Adrian, who isn’t even the lead, I found all the men to be boring, bland, and rather lifeless.  Grey is a typical alpha male mentality.  Leader of his band of merry men and claims Annique as his within 10 mins of seeing her.  As an aside, apparently this book is part of a series, where all the men find their loves.  So I may give Adrian’s book a try at some point.

The plot was very intriguing.  It was essentially a spy book, with some romance thrown in to make it a bit more complicated.  There are some plot holes, but Bourne’s writing style made it easier to glance over them.  Until the end.  The last quarter of the book was terribly difficult to read and all I kept thinking was, “Is it over yet?”

Overall I gave this book a 2/5.  Not good, not horrible.  Quick enough of a read (I read this in 3 days) that if you have the time, give it a shot.  Just don’t think too much.

Leave a Reply

