Krampus

For those who know me know that I’m not really a fan of the Christmas holiday time.  A bit of a Bah Humbug type of person.  I’ll take the cold and I’ll deal with snow, but Christmas carols and holiday movies tend to set me off.

This year is a bit different.  Not only is the parasite’s due date in late December, but there is also the new Star Wars movie, and a Krampus movie.  For once I’m actually looking forward to this coming December.

Krampus holiday greeting cardThe Krampus is near and dear to my heart.  Not only because it happens to be the namesake of one of my favorite holiday beers, but because of the Krampus lore.  The Krampus is a horrible looking horned animal with a crazy long tongue (step over Gene Simmons).  It comes around the same time as St Nick and instead of rewarding the good kids with presents, the Krampus punishes bad kids by stealing them away and eating them.

I have a feeling that between the stories of the Krampus and watching The Nightmare Before Christmas, my child will be the one kid in class asking for the black crayon when asked to draw a picture of Santa.

Leave a Reply

