Beer Review: Abita Root Beer

Root Beer by Abita

From the Abita website:

Abita Root Beer is made with a hot mix process using spring water, herbs, vanilla and yucca (which creates foam). Unlike most soft drink manufacturers, Abita sweetens its root beer with pure Louisiana cane sugar. The resulting taste is reminiscent of soft drinks made in the 1940s and 1950s, before bottlers turned to corn sugar and fructose.

It is non-alcoholic.


abita root beer craft sodaAmber’s review (3.75/5):

It was Alex’s birthday last week.  Lots of places give you free stuff when its your birthday.  Old Chicago is one of those places.  They give you a free medium pizza that you can redeem at some point during the week of your birthday.  Yesterday was the last day for Alex, so we trekked out to the east end and had ourselves some pizza and (root) beer.

I knew that going to Old Chicago meant that I’d be drinking my water staring longingly at Alex’s beer.  But hey, free pizza!  It had been a long while since we had last been to OC, and the menu had changed a lot.  I noticed that they offered a larger selection of non-alcoholic beverages which peaked my interest.  I asked the server which root beers were available.  In the back of my mind I was expecting the normal A&W or Barq’s.  The waiter listed off at least 4 different types of root beer, including an orange root beer and an alcoholic one.

I chose the Abita root beer, and I believe that was a good choice.  Sweet with a little bit of a bite.  It was tasty from the first sip to the last.  I can imagine that this root beer would be a perfect fit for a root beer float or turned into a caramel for a drizzle.  Very much a dessert type of root beer in my mind.  But worth it.

Alex had two beers:

Halfway home by Country Boy

Damascene Apricot Sour by Tin Man

Leave a Reply

