Crimson Peak

Last night Erin and I had a girl’s night.  We were long overdue and there happened to be a movie in theaters that Peaked both our interests.

Guillermo del Toro’s Crimson Peak.

crimson-peak horror movie guillermo del toro

It was beautiful.  Cinematography, production design, costume design, make up, the whole nine yards.  Everything was wonderfully executed. I believe that it was worth going to see just for the visuals.

I don’t want to give too much away of the plot, but this movie did tend to follow a lot of the traditional Gothic tropes.  Which made it a tad predictable, but still enjoyable.  The ghosts were creepy and there were a few jumps to be had, but this movie is far from nightmare inducing.

jim beaver crimson peak My favorite character has to be Edith’s father.  Played by Jim Beaver (nope no bias here).  He was wonderfully gruff and yet tried to be a good father.  He may not have gone about things in the best manner, but I like to think that it was the truest to character thing he could have done.  I could see the brutal honesty in his eyes.  Also the beard was perfect.

The one part of this movie that really got under my skin wasn’t an important plot point, or an acting fumble, or anything else of true consequence.  In the main hall of the rotting mansion there is a giant hole in the ceiling.  It allows the seasons to show within the house.  Snow in the winter and falling leaves in the autumn.  What got to me was the fact that there was a never ending cascade of leaves falling (very beautifully) through the room… but when the mansion is seen from the outside, there are no trees near enough or large enough to cause the amount of leaves falling inside.  Its the small things people.

Del Toro did an amazing job of building the suspense and painting a story.  Everything flowed well and I wasn’t feeling any of those gaps or plot holes that I tend to find in most horror movies.  Not to say there aren’t any, just that I didn’t notice them during the viewing. (I’m also not counting the leaves thing in this because honestly it didn’t really matter.)  I could tell that this is the type of movie that requires multiple watchings in order to get all the little nuances.  I’m looking forward to when its released on DVD so I can see what else I may have missed.

One thought on “Crimson Peak”

Leave a Reply

