Writing Update 2

Just in case you didn’t know I’m not really participating in NaNoWriMo, but I’m doing my own thing in the spirit of the event, and last Monday I checked in with my progress.

This past week I’ve done less writing in general than week 1.  I still feel like I’m working hard and still managing to get a few words down every day.  It just isn’t going as fast now.  I’m taking more time to rack my brain for ideas.  This is the sort of thing that I dealt with the one time I tried real NaNoWriMo.  I do great for the first week or so, and then I just run out of steam.

I feel like maybe I’m just nearing the end of this characters backstory.  She’s reached a spot that would probably explain why she took up adventuring to begin with.  I’ve established the basics for why she acts the way she does.  I’m thinking maybe all that’s left for me with this back story is to fill in some of the gaps.  Possibly expand upon some of the key moments in her life.

I’m open to other suggestions.

 

One thought on “Writing Update 2”

  1. You could always start writing an adventure that happens to her. Knowing what I know of your backstory, there’s lots of pockets where you can expand a story without the focus even being your character.

Leave a Reply

