Teaching Knitting

I’ve never really been good at teaching, but I have a great respect for those who can teach.  *cough mom cough* But when it comes to explaining things that I love to do, it just seems to kinda tumble out and I hope that the student grasps a bit of the info.

So last night when Alex was asking me to help him cast on his socks I was super excited to do so.  We decided that he should work with double points first.  (Actually the fact that my circular needles for socks currently had a project on them determined that, but that’s beside the point.)  The pattern that Alex and I both liked for his first socks were cuff down.  So of course I introduced him to the elastic cast on.

I’m a visual learner, so when I teach anything I tend to teach visually.  I showed Alex how to cast on one stitch.  He blinked a few times and called it magic.  I knew at that point that I had to change things up a bit to get him to see what was going on. I put the needle in his hand hoping that maybe the feel of the cast on would override any over thinking of the visual part of the cast on.

It took several minutes and many restarts, but he eventually got it.  By the end of the evening he had a flow to the cast on and was doing them quick enough that he ended up with a few too many stitches on his needle.  Good practice I say.

This was also the end of Alex’s monogamous knitting.  He has two WIP (works in progress).  I couldn’t be prouder.

Leave a Reply

