Unexpected Symptoms

There are several symptoms that come to everyone’s mind when talking about pregnancy.  Swelling, morning sickness, cravings, and so forth.  But there are tons of symptoms that no one talks about.  Completely normal symptoms… that are horrible.

Let me rewind a bit and say that I’ve had an easy pregnancy.  My symptoms haven’t been life threatening nor have they put me on bed rest.  So hearing me complain about my experience has everything to do with me trying to make light of a serious event in my life.

Here are a list of symptoms that I’ve experienced personally that I had no clue were going to be a part of normal life as a preggo woman.

  • Morning sickness isn’t just for the morning
    • All day every day for the first 2 trimesters… I’m surprised I gained any weight at all with the amount I had been puking
  • Loss of bladder control
    • Sneeze? Cough? Puke? Yup, pee is coming with it.  No matter how many Kegels I did, it just wasn’t enough.
  • Gas
    • Lets just say that all the members of this household will be appreciative of a smelly baby.
  • Vast quantities of mucous
    • I believe that I went through more boxes of tissue this past few months than I have in the past few years! (And I wasn’t even sick… much)
  • Exhaustion
    • After all that puking I needed a nap… or ten.  Forget making dinner or being social or doing anything other than becoming best friends with your couch.
  • Skin tags
    • EVERYWHERE
  • Sweating
    • I’m not even sure how women survive summer babies.  Buckets do not begin to cover the amount that I sweat on a daily basis.
  • Lack of coordination
    • Spilling water on myself is now a daily occurrence.  I’ve also taken to trying to breathe my food… My cousin’s experience was dropping things, constantly.
  • Urge to bake
    • Not sure if this was just a sub symptom of nesting, but Alex is enjoying the results.

I’m sure there are other things that I’ve already put out of my mind.  And I know that most of these symptoms will leave my memory quickly once the kiddo arrives. I think that’s why I wanted to write them down.  As a reminder that pregnancy is a journey within its self. But its worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

