Maybe They Don’t Realize

I’m a process knitter.  I like the act of knitting.  New patterns and new techniques excite me.  There is a standing offer with all of my friends that if they buy the yarn I’ll make whatever they want.  (Provided its not the Doctor Who scarf.)  So when my friend said she wanted to commission a Hufflepuff scarf I was more than happy to oblige.

After years of knitting I’ve found myself drawn to certain types of yarn.  Yes, you can say I’m a bit of a yarn snob, but I think that its hard to continually work with a yarn you hate.  Knitting, like any other hobby, can be as cheap or as expensive as you want to make it.  My tastes in yarn tend to ride the more expensive side of things.

I sent my friend some links to yarns that would suit the colors of the scarf and would be nice to work with.  She chose the yarn: a beautiful single ply, 100% merino, kettle dyed, scrumptious yarn that I was very excited to get my hands on.  I did the quick calculations and quoted her with a price that just covered the cost of the yarn and the shipping.

“Let’s do the cheaper option.”

I guess the sticker shock hit her pretty hard. So I sent her another option and informed her of the differences in yarn.  In the end she settled on the Knit Picks Brava.  Its acrylic, but its decent to work with.  A happy medium all parties would enjoy.

But it makes me wonder how many of my friends have undervalued (monetarily speaking) the knitted items they’ve received from me.  I tend to only gift items that used yarn I would buy for myself.  Maybe they don’t realize that there is more than just love going into my knitting.

Leave a Reply

