Today’s Training

I’ve been training for the Derby Half Marathon.  Its been hard and even grueling at times, but I enjoy the running and I like having a goal to shoot for.

Today’s training seemed extra hard for some reason.  It was a long run without the aid of my training group.  I had a few water stops planned out (thanks to my wonderful husband), but it wasn’t enough.  I’ve been training with some free energy beans/gummies.  Today’s gummies were gross.  Flat out gross.  But I ate them because I knew I needed the boost.

The route I had planned for myself took me through Cherokee Park.  The scenic loop is somewhere around 2.5 miles, but with those hills it seemed more like 5 miles.  They say to make your training runs harder than the race will be, but I think I may have over done it.

I’ve been trying to recuperate all day.  My energy levels have been super low.  My legs tighten up if I sit down for too long.  And I’m pretty sure I have a dehydration headache.

I know it sounds like I’m just complaining a lot.  And I am.  I’m allowed to.  I’m training for a half marathon.  It isn’t easy.  And I’m going to say exactly how I feel.  Some days I feel great. Today it felt like crap.

Leave a Reply

